clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Joe Girardi: NL Manager of the Year

Big surprise here: Girardi won Manager of the Year.  He dominated the SBN voting, and was first place on both Brew Crew Ball ballots.

Of course, now he's got a new job (calling Yankees games for the YES Network), and probably won't manage again until at least 2008.  I'm sure the Marlins will be very happy with Fredi Gonzalez at the helm.

In other news, Jim Leyland won the AL award, just edging out Ron Gardenhire.  Same thing happened in the SBN awards there, too.  Interesting how the top four vote-getters in the AL were the managers of the division winners, while the NL winner piloted a losing team.

No word on whether Ned Yost got any votes :).