clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan Braun Wins NL MVP: Ranked First Or Second On Every Ballot

Getty Images

As you've likely heard by now, Ryan Braun is your 2011 National League MVP. He's only the third Brewer ever to be MVP (joining Rollie Fingers and Robin Yount), and the first Brewer ever to win the award in the NL.

Here's the top five in the voting:

Player Team 1st Place Votes Points
Ryan Braun Brewers 20 388
Matt Kemp Dodgers 10 332
Prince Fielder Brewers 1 229
Justin Upton Diamondbacks 1 214
Albert Pujols Cardinals 0 166

You can see the full results at the BBWAA site. Here are some quick notes on the voting:

  • Braun was named second on each of the 12 ballots where he wasn't ranked first. Matt Kemp, meanwhile, was first on ten ballots, second on 16 and third on six.
  • Fielder collected one of the two first place votes that didn't go to Braun or Kemp. He was also named second on four ballots.
  • On top of Fielder and Braun, John Axford also received votes. He was listed eighth on one ballot and ninth on two more to finish tied for 17th with seven points.

Congratulations to Braun, Fielder, Axford and everyone honored today.