clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Craig Kimbrel Wins SB Nation NL Rookie Of The Year

While we all sit around and wait for the BBWAA to announce their award selections next week, contributors from around the SB Nation network have counted our ballots and are ready to reveal our 2011 awards this week under the following schedule:

Today: Rookies of the Year
Tuesday: AL Cy Young
Wednesday: NL Cy Young
Thursday: AL MVP
Friday: NL MVP

We're starting with a pretty easy choice: Of the 28 ballots collected in NL voting, Braves closer Craig Kimbrel was first on 22. Two of those ballots belonged to Rubie and I:

Voter 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
Kyle Craig Kimbrel Danny Espinosa Wilson Ramos
Rubie Q Craig Kimbrel Danny Espinosa Brandon Beachy

You can see the full vote count following the jump.

The voting was a little closer over in the other league, where Mariners starting pitcher Michael Pineda took home the imaginary trophy despite being listed first on just nine of 24 ballots. Brett Lawrie finished ninth in that voting, ranked second on one ballot and third on six more.

Num Name 1st 2nd 3rd Total
1 Craig Kimbrel 22 4 2 124
2 Danny Espinosa 4 6 8 46
3 Freddie Freeman 8 3 27
4 Vance Worley 1 5 3 23
5 Wilson Ramos 1 2 5 16
6 Brandon Beachy 1 4 7
7 Corey Luebke 1 3
8 Lucas Duda 1 3
9 Mark Melancon 1 1
10 Allen Craig 1 1
11 Kenley Jansen 1 1