clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan Braun, Aramis Ramirez Nominated For Gold Gloves, Awards Announced Tomorrow Night

It's been 30 years since the last Brewer won a Gold Glove, but two of them have a chance to do it in 2012.


About an hour ago while I was trying to fix my broken oven Mike Vassallo tweeted the following:

To be honest, I don't even recall Gold Glove nominations as being a thing, but apparently they are. The awards will be announced tomorrow night on ESPN2 at 8:30.

The Brewers have won nine Gold Gloves in franchise history but none since Robin Yount at shortstop during his MVP season in 1982. Obviously that means Ryan Braun has never won one. This is Ramirez's 15th major league season and he hasn't either.

Meanwhile, the best defensive Brewer is not up for Gold Glove consideration: Carlos Gomez was not nominated in center field, while Michael Bourn, Andrew McCutchen and Drew Stubbs were. You can see the full list of nominees here.