clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan Braun Finishes Second in NL MVP Voting Behind Buster Posey; Aramis Ramirez Finishes Ninth

Despite a strong 2012, Ryan Braun could not surpass Buster Posey in the NL MVP vote. He finished second in the vote, receiving 3 of 32 first place votes. Aramis Ramirez also finished in the top ten in ninth place.

Jeff Gross

The vote was released tonight for the NL MVP. Despite a strong 2012 season, it was not enough for Ryan Braun to take home the NL MVP for a second straight year. Ryan Braun received a total of 285 points and 3 of the 32 first place votes, but it was a distant second to Buster Posey. Posey ran away with the vote, getting 27 of 32 first place votes and a total of 422 points. Posey and Braun, along with Andrew McCutchen (who finished third) are the only three players to appear on all 32 ballots.

Aramis Ramirez also cracked the top ten for the Brewers. He received 47 points and was voted as high as fifth on a ballot. He appeared on 13 of the 32 ballots. The Brewers were the only team with two players in the top ten, though no other Brewers were listed on a ballot.

Meanwhile, on the AL side, Miguel Cabrera ran away with the AL MVP, getting 22 of 28 first place votes. Mike Trout finished second and received the other 6 votes.

You can see the full breakdown of the results here for the NL MVP, and you can look here for the full results of the AL MVP.