clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

IBWAA Selects Posey Over Braun For NL MVP

Braun finished second in the internet writers' association version of the BBWAA Awards.

Jamie Squire

I just received the following press release from Howard Cole, Director of the IBWAA:

Los Angeles - The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced its 2012 Most Valuable Player Awards Monday, electing Buster Posey in the National League and Miguel Cabrera in the American League.

Election results are as follows:


1st Place: Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers
2nd Place: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
3rd Place: Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers
4th Place: Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers
5th Place: Robinson Cano, New York Yankees
6th Place: Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles
7th Place: Prince Fielder, Detroit Tigers
8th Place: Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers
9th Place: Edwin Encarnación, Toronto Blue Jays
10th Place: Derek Jeter, New York Yankees


1st Place: Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants
2nd Place: Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
3rd Place: Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
4th Place: Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals
5th Place: Chase Headley, San Diego Padres
6th Place: David Wright, New York Mets
7th Place: Adam LaRoche, Washington Nationals
8th Place: Jay Bruce, Cincinnati Reds
9th Place: Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds
10th Place: Matt Holliday, St. Louis Cardinals

The IBWAA will announce its Hall of Fame election results January 7, 2013.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the BBWAA.

Among others, IBWAA members include Barry Bloom,; Tim Brown, Yahoo Sports; Fred Claire, former General Manager, Los Angeles Dodgers; Joe McDonnell,; Ramona Shelburne,; Tom Hoffarth, J.P. Hoornstra and Jill Painter, Los Angeles Daily News; Kevin Baxter, Los Angeles Times; and prominent baseball authors Paul Dickson, Peter Golenbock, Josh Pahigian and Dan Schlossberg.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $10, or $20 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.

For more information please go to