clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan Braun Wins Fifth Consecutive Silver Slugger


Finally, an award show that doesn't end in Brewer fan disappointment.

After leading the NL in home runs (41), runs scored (108), OPS (.987) and total bases (356), Ryan Braun was a near lock to win his fifth consecutive Silver Slugger Award and did so, joining Andrew McCutchen and Jay Bruce as the National League winners in the outfield.

Braun is only the fourth Brewer outfielder to win one of these awards, joining Ben Oglivie, Robin Yount and Carlos Lee. Obviously, he's the only one to win five. Robin Yount won the award three times, twice at shortstop and once in the outfield.

Meanwhile, Aramis Ramirez was passed over at third base in favor of Chase Headley of the Padres.

Coaches and managers vote for these awards, and cannot select players from their own team.

By the way, Prince Fielder won his first AL Silver Slugger at first base. It's his second consecutive and the third of his career.