clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brewers' Gomez finalist for Gold Glove

Gomez is the Brewers' lone finalist


According to Tom Haudricourt on Twitter, the Brewers' Carlos Gomez is the team's lone Rawlings Gold Glove finalist.

The Pirates' Andrew McCutchen and the Nationals' Denard Span join Gomez as finalists in the National League center field category.

Although purporting to reward defensive prowess, these awards have typically skewed towards the offensively talented. That's because MLB managers and coaches are the ones who get to cast the votes, and defense is still a difficult thing to quantify. However, Rawlings is making some headway there; this year, for the first time, 30 votes will be tabulated using a defensive analytic developed with the help of the Society for American Baseball Research.

Both Gomez and McCutchen had very good 2013 seasons with the bat as well as with the glove. On sheer defense, Gomez, who created a highlight reel every week in center field, should edge McCutchen. McCutchen also won last year.

The Brewers' haven't had a winner since 1982, when Robin Yount earned one for his spectacular play at shortstop. Other team winners have been George Scott (five), Cecil Cooper (two), and Sixto Lezcano (once).

The winners will be unveiled October 29th.