clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NL MVP Results: Carlos Gomez finishes ninth

I guess this will be 2013's final edition of the Carlos Gomez MVP Watch.

Al Bello

The 2013 NL MVP results are out, and odds are you won't be surprised. Pirates center fielder Andrew McCutchen is the clear winner, appearing in the first spot on 28 of 30 ballots. Paul Golschmidt finished a distant second, outscored 409 to 242. Yadier Molina finished third despite receiving a pair of first place votes.

Carlos Gomez was, as expected, the only Brewer to receive votes. He finished in ninth place with 43 points, a spot behind Dodgers shortstop Hanley Ramirez and just ahead of Reds outfielder Jay Bruce. He was mentioned on 15 of 30 ballots, and his best vote was a fifth place appearance on the ballot of Pittsburgh Post Gazette writer Bill Brink.

This was the first time the Brewers haven't had a top three finisher in the MVP voting since 2010. Prince Fielder and Ryan Braun were both in the top three in 2011, and Braun finished second last year. The Brewers have had at least one player mentioned on an MVP ballot every year since 2006.

The Milwaukee voters for the NL MVP were Tom Haudricourt and Todd Rosiak of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. Haudricourt did not list Gomez on his ballot, while Rosiak had him tenth. Both had McCutchen in first place.