clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Home Run Derby Open Thread

Come discuss the 2014 Home Run Derby here.

Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

With all MLB teams off today and the World Cup finished, there's only one major sports event to watch today, and that's the MLB Home Run Derby.

Here are the players for the Home Run Derby:

American League National League
Jose Bautista, Blue Jays (Captain) Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies (Captain)
Josh Donaldson, Athletics Todd Frazier, Reds
Brian Dozier, Twins Justin Morneau, Rockies
Adam Jones, Orioles Yasiel Puig, Dodgers
Yoenis Cespedes, Athletics Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins

A new bracket format will be used this year, with the NL facing off against the AL to determine the champion. There are more players, but fewer outs for each this time. Here's how it will go.

Round 1: All 10 players bat using an order determined before the event. Batters will alternate between the NL and AL as they go through their orders. Each batter gets 7 outs. Top batter in each league gets a bye to the semifinals, #2 and #3 batters in each league advance to the next round.

Round 2: The #2 and #3 batters in each league face off against each other.  The NL will go first, then the AL. #2 batter on each side gets to choose whether they bat first or second. Each batter gets 7 outs, best from each league advances to semifinals.

Semifinals: Winners from round 2 face off against the top batters from round 1. As in round 2, the NL will go first, then the AL. The #1 batter from round 1 in each league chooses to bat either first or second. Each batter gets 7 outs, best from each league advances to the finals.

Finals: The semifinal winner from each league faces off. A meeting will take place prior to the finals between each side's captain and bracket winner (could be same person). In this meeting, a coin flip will occur to determine the batting order. Each batter gets 7 outs, player with more home runs wins the event.

Tiebreaker: In the event of a tie to advance or in the finals, each player gets 3 swings (not outs) to record as many home runs as possible. If it's still tied, each batter will get 1 additional swing. This will continue until someone wins the tiebreaker.

The Home Run Derby is on ESPN. Calling the derby is Chris Berman and John Kruk, with Buster Olney and Pedro Gomez providing reports/interviews from the field.

Whether you're watching the derby or not, join us in the comments below.