2017 Brewers 40-man roster (with how acquired)

Happy Opening Day, everybody!

Milwaukee Brewers 40-man Roster (including Disabled List)


Chase Anderson (trade 2B)

Jacob Barnes (2011 draft, 14th round)

Michael Blazek (trade 3)

Tyler Cravy (2009 draft, 17th round)

Zach Davies (trade 5A)

Neftali Feliz (FA 2017)

Matt Garza (FA, 2014)

Junior Guerra (waivers, CWS, 2015)

Josh Hader (trade 1A)

Adrian Houser (trade 1A)

Jared Hughes (FA 2017)

Taylor Jungmann (2011 draft, 1st round)

Corey Knebel (trade 7)

Jorge Lopez (2011 draft, 2nd round)

Damien Magnifico (2012 draft, 5th round)

Jhan Martinez (acquired from TB for $$$$)

Tommy Milone (FA, 2016)

Jimmy Nelson (2010 draft, 2nd round)

Wily Peralta (undrafted FA, 2005)

Brent Suter (2012 draft, 31st round)

Carlos Torres (FA, 2016)

Taylor Williams (2013 draft, 4th round)


Jett Bandy (trade 14)

Manny Pina (trade 8)

Andrew Susac (trade 4A)


Jesus Aguilar (waivers, CLE 2017)

Orlando Arcia (Int’l FA, 2010)

Hernan Perez (waivers, DET 2015)

Yadiel Rivera (2010 draft, 9th round)

Travis Shaw (trade 13)

Eric Thames (FA 2017)

Jonathan Villar (trade 9)


Ryan Braun (2005 draft, 1st round)

Lewis Brinson (trade 12)

Keon Broxton (trade 10)

Ryan Cordell (trade 12)

Kirk Nieuwenhuis (waivers, NYM 2016)

Brett Phillips (trade 1A)

Michael Reed (2011 draft, 5th round)

Domingo Santana (trade 1A)

Trades (roughly in chronological order)

*Note – minor league prospects are noted with (#__), based on most recent list

1. C. Gomez from MIN for J. Hardy (2001 draft, 2nd rd)

1A. A. Houser, B. Phillips, D. Santana, and J. Hader from HOU for C. Gomez, M. Fiers (2009 Draft, 22nd round)

2. Z. Greinke, Y. Betancourt from KC for A. Escobar (non-draft FA, 2003), L. Cain (2004 draft, 17th rd – draft and follow), J. Odorizzi (sup 1st round, 2008), J. Jeffress (1st round, 2006)

2A. J. Segura, J. Hellweg, A. Pena from LAA for Z. Greinke

2B. C. Anderson, A. Hill, I. Diaz (#8) from AZ for J. Segura, T. Wagner

2C. A. Wilkerson, W. Rijo from BOS for A. Hill

3. M. Blazek from StL for John Axford (minor league FA, 2008)

4. W. Smith from KAN for N. Aoki (free agent, Japan)

4A. A. Susac, P. Bickford from SF for Will Smith

5. G. Parra from ARZ for LHP A. Banda and RF M. Haniger

5A. Z. Davies from BAL for G. Parra

6. A. Lind from TOR for Marco Estrada (waivers, WAS 2010)

6A. C. Herrera (P), D. Missaki (P), F. Peralta (P) from SEA for A. Lind

7. Corey Knebel, Luis Sardinas and Marcos Diplan (#12) from TEX for Yovani Gallardo (2004 draft, 2nd round)

8. J. Bettencourt, M. Pina from DET for F. Rodriguez (FA 2014)

9. J. Villar from HOU for C. Sneed (2014 draft 3rd round)

10. K. Broxton , T. Supak (#30) from PIT for J. Rodgers (2010 draft, 32nd round)

11. J. Nottingham (#15), B. Derby from OAK for K. Davis (2009 draft, 7th round)

12. Lewis Brinson, Luis Ortiz (#4), Ryan Cordell from TEX for Jonathan Lucroy (2007 draft, 3rd rd), Jeremy Jeffress (minor league FA, 2014, orig. trade 2)

13. Travis Shaw, Josh Pennington, Mauricio Dubon (#9) from BOS for Tyler Thornburg (2010 draft, 3rd round)

14. J. Bandy from LAA for Martin Maldonado (minor league FA, 2009), Drew Gagnon