clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Milwaukee Brewers have three players nominated for All-MLB Team voting

A trio of right-handed pitchers are up for the honor.

Chicago Cubs v Milwaukee Brewers Photo by Dylan Buell/Getty Images

Last year, Major League Baseball introduced the “All-MLB Team” awards, rewarding the top players for their performances across the entire regular season. The honor is meant to be a complement to the midseason All-Star voting and recognizes both the first and second team All-MLB players, which are chosen by votes from fans as well as panel of experts. Without an All-Star game this year, the All-MLB distinction carries even more weight.

Christian Yelich and Josh Hader were both voted first team All-MLB with Yasmani Grandal getting named to the second team in 2019. This year, three players from the Milwaukee Brewers are up for recognition. Perhaps unsurprisingly, all of them pitchers.

Right-handler Devin Williams makes the cut, which comes as no shock after he was already named as the National League’s top relief pitcher during the World Series. He led all qualified MLB relievers in ERA, FIP, and RA9-WAR during the shortened 2020 campaign. Corbin Burnes was a major bounce back story after a nightmare 2019, finishing 13 of an inning short of qualifying this summer but with the 6th-best ERA (2.11) and the top FIP (2.03) of any pitcher with at least 50 innings. Brandon Woodruff came into the year looking to solidify his status as an “ace” and may have accomplished just that after posting a 3.05 ERA and 3.20 FIP in 13 starts and 73.2 innings pitched.

The Padres have the most nominees of any team in the National League with 9, followed by the Braves and Dodgers with 6 nominees each. The Indians and White Sox both had 7 nominees in the American League. The Pittsburgh Pirates were the only team without any players nominated for the All-MLB voting.

You can cast your votes for the All-MLB team here. Voting runs through November 13th, with the All-MLB first and second teams getting announced on December 7th.

Statistics courtesy of Fangraphs