clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Devin Williams wins NL Rookie of the Year

The first reliever to win since 2011, the first Brewer sin 2007

Milwaukee Brewers v Chicago Cubs Photo by Nuccio DiNuzzo/Getty Images

Milwaukee Brewers reliever Devin Williams has won the 2020 National League Rookie of the Year!

Williams was one of the most dominant pitchers, period, in 2020. He pitched 27 innings over 22 games for Milwaukee, allowing just one earned run. Batters struggled mightily against the Reliever of the Year, striking out 53 times, walking nine and managing just eight hits.

The Brewers drafted Williams back in 2013. He was the team’s second round pick, but first overall due to Milwaukee forfeiting their first round pick for signing Kyle Lohse. He was predominantly developed as a starter due to excellent command and a decent three-pitch mix, but underwent Tommy John Surgery in 2017. When he came back, Milwaukee moved him to relief going forward. That decision paid off mightily, now the Brewers have one of the most formidable one-two bullpen punches in baseball with Josh Hader.

Williams was going up against Philadelphia Phillies infielder Alec Bohm and San Diego Padres infielder Jake Cronenworth. The Brewers rookie received 14 first-place votes, six second-place votes and seven third-place votes to give him a commanding 95 point lead against the two, who both finished with 74 points.

Devin Williams joins Ryan Braun as the only other NL Rookie of the Year in franchise history. Pat Listach also won Rookie of the Year in the American League in 1992.

Statistic courtesy Baseball-Reference