clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brewers drop series finale in Boston, 7-2

Ashby and Milner combine to allow five runs in the fifth inning after a Wong error

MLB: Milwaukee Brewers at Boston Red Sox Gregory Fisher-USA TODAY Sports

Box Score

After winning the first two games of the series, the Crew dropped the final outing, started by Aaron Ashby. He was facing Josh Winckowski for Boston. Ashby was credited for the loss while striking out six Red Sox.

Milwaukee would strike early in the second inning when Hunter Renfroe hit a two-run blast over the Green Monster in left field for the only two runs out of the Crew on the day after Kolten Wong had doubled on the previous at-bat.

Ashby pitched a clean first four innings, but after an error from Kolten Wong, the Red Sox exploded. Xander Bogaerts hit a double to left that scored both Jackie Bradley Jr. and Yolmer Sanchez, which was then followed up with a J.D. Martinez double that brought home Bogaerts. A third straight double from Christian Vasquez would score Martinez, lengthening their lead.

Hoby Milner would be brought in to replace Ashby after he allowed three straight doubles, but with Vasquez on second, Milner would immediately allow a double to Alex Verdugo, making it four straight RBI doubles. Bobby Dalbec would then fly out to end the inning, with Boston ahead 5-2.

Boston would score again on Milner in the bottom of the sixth as former Brewer Jackie Bradley Jr. hit a ground-rule double that brought home Christian Arroyo from third. Jandel Gustave would then replace Milner but would allow an RBI base hit to Jaylin Davis that scored Bradley Jr. Gustave would then get out of the inning with the Boston advantage now at 7-2.

The Brewers couldn’t get anything going offensively late in the game and the game ended at 7-2. Milwaukee will now travel to Pittsburgh for a three-game series with the Pirates before coming home to face the Cincinnati Reds. Corbin Burnes is set to face off against Bryse Wilson in the opener on Tuesday in Pittsburgh. The first pitch is at 6:05 CDT on Bally Sports Wisconsin and 620 WTMJ.